Article Image Alt Text

Central Catholic's Yani Johnson (The Daily Review/Geoff Stoute)

Central Catholic's Yani Johnson earnes 2nd-team All-District 7-1A honors

Central Catholic had one second-team selection to lead the squad’s All-District 7-1A girls’ basketball picks. \
Freshman Yani Johnson was chosen to the league’s second team.
Other Lady Eagles who received postseason honors included Hallie Autin and Aalaiyah Poole, who were honorable mention choices, and Taylor Picou, who was selected to the All-Defensive team.
Lafayette Christian swept the individual honors as Megan Abrams was named the Most Valuable Player, while Errol Rogers was the Coach of the Year.
Central Catholic also was represented by several Academic All-District selections. Lady Eagles making the list were Emma Aucoin, Autin, Rebecca David, Picou, Sydney Williams, Madison Theriot, Lexi Landry, Sinclair Callias, Ava Nicar, Rachel Rogers and Caitlyn Picou.
Below are the complete all-district teams and the academic all-district recipients:
First Team
Megan Abram, Lafayette Christian Academy, Jr., 19.5 ppg, 5 rpg, 5 apg; Jay Demouchet, Vermilion Catholic, So., 17 ppg, 3 rpg, 6 spg, 4 apg; Ashari Terry, Gueydan, Jr., 13 ppg, 10 rpg, 4 spg, 5 apg; Ke’Ara Charles, Gueydan, Sr., 12 ppg, 10 rpg, 6 spg, 7 apg; and Allyssa Young, Hanson, Jr., 11.6 ppg, 4.6 rpg, 1.8 spg, 3 apg.

Second Team
Yani Johnson, Central Catholic; Erin Rogers, LCA; Kelli Frith, VC; Sarah Beadle, Ascension Episcopal; and Casey Fitzgerald, Hanson.

Defensive Team
Ascension Episcopal: Quinn Billeaud; Centerville: Riley Candella; Central Catholic: Taylor Picou; Gueydan: Ke’Ara Charles; Hanson: Baylee Young; Highland Baptist: Lexi Voorhies; Lafayette Catholic: Regan Lantier; and Vermilion Catholic: Ainsley Mallet.

Honorable Mention
Ascension Episcopal: Christiana Lemoine and Quinn Billeaud; Centerville: Hailey McDaniel and Alyria Austin; Central Catholic: Hallie Autin and Aalaiyah Poole; Gueydan: T’Nia Leger, Cheyenne LaComb and Kendra Petry; Hanson: Carlie Pellerin, Baylee Young and Sarah Daniel; Highland Baptist: Camryn Sensley; Lafayette Christian: Sasha Rudd and Janae Duffy; and Vermilion Catholic: Belia Doucet, Kylie White, AnneCatherine Gallet, Olivia Chiasson and Emma LeBlanc.

Megan Abram, LCA

Coach of the Year
Errol Rogers, LCA

Academic All District
Highland Baptist: Blair Abshire, Dusti Abshire, Marin Barras, Bri Sensley, Camryn Sensley and Lexi Voorhies.
Vermilion Catholic: Emily Bertrand, Olivia Chiasson, Jay Demouchet, Ainsley Mallet, Bella Doucet, Kylie White, Whitney Bourque, Anne Catherine Gallet, Allie Trahan, Emily Boudreaux, Kelli Frith, Emma LeBlanc, Madi Thibodeaux and Mackay Suire.

Gueydan: Lea Wesley, Madisyn LeDay, Ke’Ara Charles, Kelsey Williams, Ryleigh Istre, Kirsten Reed, Ashari Terry, Cheyenne LaComb, Emily Gaspard, Kendra LaComb, T’Nia Leger, Kendra Petry, Erin Johnson and Rebekah Leprietire.

Central Catholic: Emma Aucoin, Hallie Autin, Rebecca David, Taylor Picou, Sydney Williams, Madison Theriot, Lexi Landry, Sinclair Callais, Ava Nicar, Rachel Rogers and Caitlyn Picou.

Ascension Episcopal: Sarah Beadle, Brittany Menard, Sydney Smith, Abbie Boland, Christiana Lemoine, Lauren Seago, Quinn Billeaud, Courtney Cruse, Avery Lege, Annie Mouton and Anna Charbonnet.

Hanson: Baylee Young, Kayle Touchet, Noel Baker, Lunden Verdin, Allyssa Young, Casey Fitzgerald, Kaylee Broussard, Sarah Daniel, Carlie Pellerin, Rosemarie Colley, Olivia St Blanc, Camille Baker, Abby Dugas and Sarah Kuhlman.

Centerville: Alyrria Austin, Johnise Bowie, Rylie Candella, Kel’Lisha Daniels, RoShayla Gunner, Alyssa Luchitz, Hailey McDaniel, Nevaeh McDaniel and Lyric Proctor.


Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255