Trimmer, Chellette crowned Children’s Day royalty

Lillian Trimmer and Aedynn Chellette, both of Morgan City, were crowned Louisiana Shrimp and Petroleum Festival Children’s Day king and queen Saturday following a random drawing held at the festival office in Morgan City.

This year’s royalty will be presented during the Louisiana Shrimp and Petroleum Festival Coronation Court on Saturday, Aug. 24, at the Morgan City Municipal Auditorium. The coronation will feature the crowning of the adult king and queen.

Trimmer is the 11-year-old daughter of Cheryl and William Trimmer of Morgan City. She is the granddaughter of Dr. William H. Trimmer, and Charles and Helen Polk of Morgan City.

A seventh-grader at Morgan City Junior High School, she enjoys art, reading, drawing and being in the marching band.

Chellette is the 8-year-old son of Kelly Riley and Daniel Chellette of Morgan City. He is the grandson of Paulette Chellette and Charlotte Riley of Morgan City.

The third-grader at M.E. Norman School in Morgan City enjoys video games and swimming.

The royal couple will reign over Children’s Day activities from 9 to 11 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 31 at Lawrence Park in Morgan City and conclude with the Children’s Day Mini Parade at 11 a.m. Children are invited to participate in field games and races, and the mini parade.

Sponsor of Children’s Day is the family of Marion Bergeron and the late Oliver Bergeron.

Past Children’s Day royalty includes:

1973 — Suzanne Wasson and Casey Dozar; 1974 — Cindy Eskridge and Brian Roy; 1975 — Melanie Solar Percy Hebert; 1976 — Julie Cortez and Mark Pennison; 1977 — Monica Billiot and Dean Grizzaffi; 1978 — Mary Ellen Porth and Scott Boudreaux; 1979 — Chantelle Roy and Leslie Torgrimson;

1980 — Paula Cortez and Kevin Burt; 1981 — Holli Keller and Ryan Sanders; 1982 — Ginger Reeves and Jason Leonard; 1983 — Holly Cortez and Jeremy Broussard; 1984 — Casey Miller and Richard Parker; 1985 — Angela Giandelone and David Barousse; 1986 — Amanda Judice and Jamey Chellette; 1987 — Colleen Hammonds and Corey Matherne; 1988 — Ellena Arthur and Chad DuBois; 1989 — Kassi Simoneaux and Gabe Meranto;

1990 — Anna Marie Courville and Bill Cefalu; 1991 — Jani Meranto and Robert Balance; 1992 — Ashley Hudson and Justin Cheramie; 1993 — Megan Driskill and Shaun Sikes; 1994 — Alana Cefalu and Jacob DuBois; 1995 — Katelyn Duplantis and Dustin Levy; 1996 — Dasha Maize and Dylan Bergeron; 1997 — Karla Marie Heber and Shal’Jaup Williams; 1998 — Caroline Harris and Christopher Fabre; 1999 — Judith Fabre and Brent “Chip” Bergeron II;

2000 — Calie Anslem and Devin Duval; 2001 — Courtney Golloher and Justin Rogers; 2002 — Amanda Anslem and Travis Glynn; 2003 — Stephanie Flenner and Austin Courville; 2004 — McKenna Aloisio and John Ibert; 2005 — Olivia Gilbert and Hunter Mayon; 2006 — Alisha Flenner and Dylan Robinson; 2007 — Baily Grace Lejeune and Tra’Len Duhon-Dangerfield; 2008 — Jordyn Bellard and George Boston Jr.; 2009 — Rebekah Flenner and Scott Price;

2010 — Dianne Ward and Nickolas Aleksines; 2011 — Sara Price and Zane Daigle; 2012 — Trysten Tallada and Joshua Fribley.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us