MCHS' Gautreaux is district MVP

From Staff Reports

Morgan City placed five players on the All-District 8-4A squad, including the league’s most valuable player.

Junior Buck Gautreaux was named district MVP after he finished his junior season with a .467 batting average. In 45 plate appearances, he had 21 hits — including three doubles and five RBIs. He also stole seven bases and scored 12 runs.

In center field, his defensive play saved the Tigers many runs.

Others Tigers named to the first team included senior pitcher Brodie Anslum, senior catcher Nick Gagliano, junior third baseman Dylan Hymel and junior outfielder Ryan Veillion.

Joining the Tigers on the first team were pitchers, Joshua Trujilo and Seth Cadiere of South Terrebonne and Josh Bergeron of Vandebilt Catholic; catcher Zach Hebert of South Terrebonne; first baseman James Leblanc of South Terrebonne; second baseman Hunter Gautreaux of Assumption; shortstop Britt Pellegrin of South Terrebonne; outfielders, Trey Tramonte of Assumption and Matt Benoit and Cullen Bergeron of South Terrebonne; and utility player Chase Hawthorne of Vandebilt.

South Terrebonne’s Nate Cotton was named district Coach of the Year.

Gagliano finished his senior district season with a .350 batting average. In 40 plate appearances, he recorded 14 hits, including two doubles and a triple, and drove in 11. He also scored 12 runs. Behind the plate, he threw out seven base runners.

Anslum recorded a 4-3 mark on the mound, which included five complete games.

He recorded a 3.59 earned run average, and in 41 innings, he walked 19 and struck out 32.

Hymel hit a scorching .528 in district. He recorded 19 hits in 36 plate appearances, including four doubles and a home run. He also knotched 11 RBIs, stole seven bases and scored 12 runs. He had an on-base percentage of .605.

Veillion batted .393 with 11 hits in 28 at bats. He recorded three doubles, a triple, a home run and drove in eight. He also stole two bases.

Morgan City also placed two players on the second team, senior pitcher Brennan Scully and junior outfielder Josh Glatter.

They were joined by pitchers Tate Foley of Assumption, Gibby Talbot of Ellender and Jacob Walker of Vandebilt; catchers Blake Talbot of Vandebilt and Dylan Sierra of Assumption; first baseman Mitchell Folse of Vandebilt; second baseman J.T. Lebouef of Ellender; third baseman Zachary LeBeouf of South Terrebonne; shortstop Jordan Bergeron of Vandebilt; outfielders Hayden Richard of Assumption, Houston Chatman of Ellender and Peyton Barrios of Vandebilt; and utility player Matt Bergeron of Vandebilt.

Scully had a 1-2 mound record with a 5.17 ERA. In 212/3 innings, he surrendered nine walks and struck out 13.

Glatter batted .250 during the district season with three doubles, four RBIs and scored four runs.

Morgan City’s Brandon Beadle (first base) and Adeyemi Wheeler and Kolin Leonard (outfielders) were All-District honorable mention selections.

Other honorable mention selections included Assumption’s Slye Ourse (first base), Hudson Rodrigue (third base) and Drake Vedros (utility); Ellender’s Matt Ledet (utility) and Nick Robinson (first base); South Terrebonne’s Alex Salassi (utility) and Jason Helms (pitcher); and Vandebilt’s Barry Fanguy (pitcher) and Tanner Whately (second base).

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us