MCHS' Buck Gautreaux is an honorable mention selection

Staff Report

Morgan City’s Buck Gautreaux was recognized as an honorable mention selection on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class 4A All-State team.

Gautreaux, a speedy centerfielder and four-year starter for Morgan City, was recognized after batting .305 with eight doubles, one triple, 15 RBIs, a .457 on-base percentage. He also stolen 14 bases and scored 32 runs.

In the field, he did not commit an error.

Morgan City coach Marc Gonzales said it was a “great honor” for Gautreaux to be recognized, noting that his centerfielder played the game of baseball the way it was supposed to be played.

“As far as this season for us, he was just a leader, set the tempo for us,” Gonzales said.

On defense, Gautreaux was known throughout his career for his incredibly tough catches.

“Our pitchers, they felt very comfortable with that guy out in centerfield,” Gonzales said, adding that his play saved the Tigers a lot of runs.

Gonzales also commended Gautreaux for his actions off the field.

“He’s a student-athlete with character, and he’s going to achieve in all aspects of live because of that,” Gonzales said.

State champion Lutcher High School swept the top individual honors as Jared Poche was named Outstanding Player, while Davey Clement was Coach of the Year.

Other District 8-4A selections included Vandebilt Catholic third basemen Matt Bergeron, a first-team selection, and honorable mention selections were Vandebilt Catholic’s Josh Bergeron and Jordan Bergeron and South Terrebonne’s Matt Benoit.

First team

Pitcher: Jared Poche – Lutcher, J.P. France – Shaw, Hunter Trahan – Teurlings Catholic, Wyatt Marks, St. Thomas More; catcher, Andrew Cole – Benton; first base, Grant Godeaux – Cecilia; second base, J.J. Faciane – DeRidder; shortstop, Dylan Parker – Belle Chasse; third base, Matt Bergeron – Vandebilt Catholic; outfield, Zachary Zimmer – Lutcher, Brandon Herrera – Holy Cross, Ryan Taylor – Holy Cross; utility, Dylan Roy – Tioga, Corey Merrill – Lutcher, Chase Vallot – St. Thomas More, Kennon Menard – Teurlings Catholic, Jordan Shaffer – Benton

Outstanding player: Jared Poche, Lutcher

Coach of the Year: Davey Clement, Lutcher

Honorable mention: Aaron Henigan, Benton; Devin Jones, DeRidder; Joe Mike Baldwin, DeRidder; Jordan Antley, West Ouachita; Kevin Simmons, Franklinton; Michael Hawkins, Teurlings Catholic; Chase Calderera, Lutcher; Spencer Hemphill, West Ouachita; Clay Harst, St. Thomas More; Christopher Reid, St. Michael; Turner Francis, Minden; J.T. Mauldin, St. Michael; Haden Hernandez, St. Louis; Zach Watson, West Ouachita; Will McCullough, Franklinton; Sam Houston, St. Thomas More; Josh Bergeron, Vandebilt Catholic; Slade Baker, Northwood; Oni Robertson, Broadmoor; Julius Maracalin, Plaquemine; James Smith, St. Michael; Cody Campo, Salmen; Terry Esteve, Belle Chasse; Blaise Brown, St. Augustine; Adam Nelson, Tioga; Josh Magee, Franklinton; Jace Nini, Shaw; Jared Varnado, Franklinton; Garrett Parker, Grant; Justin McMillan, Alexandria; D.J. Celestine, Peabody; Jordan Bergeron, Vandebilt Catholic; Buck Gauthreaux, Morgan City; Matt Benoit, South Terrebonne.

Additional information from

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us