Football format remains unchanged

The Louisiana High School Athletic Association’s member principals voted overwhelmingly Friday to keep the current split in place for the high school football playoffs that divides schools into select and nonselect brackets for the postseason.
A measure to end the split, brought by E.D. White Principal Michelle Chiasson, was defeated 208-93.
In the current format, nonselect schools Patterson and Berwick compete in Classes 3A during both the regular and postseasons as does another nonselect school, Morgan City, in Class 4A.
Central Catholic, a select school, competes for district honors in Class 1A with both other select and nonselect schools, but in in the postseason, the Eagles compete in Division 4, which is comprised of Class 1A schools classified as select.
Additional reporting by The Baton Rouge Advocate

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us