BHS’ Duthu leads 9-3A district selections

Nick Duthu

Brooks Richard

Bobby Boudreaux

Brannon Melancon

Neil Theriot Jr.

Brennan Gouaux

Jake Lagrange

Spencer Landry

Taylor Harris

Berwick’s Nick Duthu led the area All-District 9-3A baseball selections as he was selected as District Most Valuable Player.
Duthu, a senior, was part of the Panthers’ district runner-up team this season as the squad finished 6-2.
On the mound, he handed E.D. White their lone loss of the season in district.
Shane Trosclair of E.D. White, which won the district title with a win against Berwick in both teams’ district finale, was named the District’s Coach of the Year.
Duthu was joined on the all-district teams by nine fellow Panthers.
Of those, first-team selections included pitcher Brannon Melancon, third baseman Neil Theriot Jr. and utility players Bobby Boudreaux, Brooks Richard and Daniel Gray.
Berwick’s second-team selections included catcher Austin Spencer, outfielders Justin Morvant and Braden Billiot and utility selection Cameron Wiley.
Patterson placed nine on the first- and second-teams as well as honorable mention.
Four of the Lumberjacks made the first-team. Those are pitcher Jake Lagrange, second baseman Taylor Harris, shortstop Spencer Landry and outfielder Brennan Gouaux.
Second-team selections for Patterson were third baseman Kenny Singleton Jr. and pitcher Joel Singleton.
Honorable mention selections for the Lumberjacks were catcher Blake Dreyer, pitcher Sirbatian Charles and utility player Tyrik Singleton.
Below are the complete first-team as well as area second-team and honorable mention selections.
First Team
Pitchers: Jake Lagrange, junior, Patterson; Brennan Legendre, senior, ED White; Brannon Melancon, senior, Berwick; Justin Theriot, senior, ED White

Catcher: Spencer Folse, senior, ED White

First base: Nick Duthu, senior, Berwick

Second base: Taylor Harris, senior, Patterson

Third base: Neil Theriot Jr., junior, Berwick

Shortstop: Spencer Landry, senior, Patterson

Outfield: Brennan Gouaux, sophomore, Patterson; Thomas Legendre, junior, ED White; Frank Robichaux, junior, ED White

Utility: Bobby Boudreaux, senior, Berwick; Seth Gravois, senior, ED White; Daniel Gray, junior, Berwick; Brooks Richard, senior, Berwick; Scottie Sanders, senior, ED White

Nick Duthu, Berwick

Coach of the Year
Shane Trosclair, ED White

Second Team (Patterson and Berwick only)
Austin Spencer, Berwick, catcher; Kenny Singleton, Patterson, third base; Joel Singleton, Patterson, pitcher; Justin Morvant, Berwick, outfielder; Braden Billiot, Berwick, outfielder; and Cameron Wiley, Berwick, utility player

Honorable Mention
Tyrik Singleton, Patterson (utility), Blake Dreyer, Patterson, (catcher) and Sirbatian Charles, Patterson, (pitcher)

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us