Grizzaffi wins Morgan City mayor’s race, Boustany wins in 3rd Congressional District contest, Theriot is apparent winner in judicial election (updated with new tallies)

MORGAN CITY, La. — With all 12 precincts tallied, Frank “Boo” Grizzaffi with 2,113 votes has defeated Lee Dragna, who has 950 votes, to win the Morgan City runoff election for mayor.

The results are complete, but unofficial.

The Morgan City mayor’s race was the only local race in St. Mary Parish Saturday.

Parishwide runoffs are for the 3rd Congressional District seat and a race for judge on the 1st Circuit Court of Appeal.

In the 3rd Congressional District that pitted incumbent Reps. Charles Boustany, R-Lafayette, and Jeff Landry, R-New Iberia against each other, Boustany had 58,084votes and Landry 37,403votes.

The results are from 599 of the 616 precincts.

With all of 54 St. Mary Parish precincts reporting, Boustany trailed Landry 2,383 to 4,440.

In the Nov. 6 general election, Boustany won 45 percent of the vote and Landry had 30 percent in a field of five candidates.

In the election for judge on the 1st Circuit Court of Appeal, William Dupont has 22,765 votes and Mitch Theriot has 25,525 votes.

The tally is from 454 of 455 precincts.

Theriot led Dupont in St. Mary Parish with all 54 precincts reporting. Theriot tallied 4,094 votes and Dupont had 2,742 votes in St. Mary Parish.

In the November election, Dupont had 38 percent of the vote and Theriot had 34 percent.

The seat is one of five circuit courts of appeal in Louisiana. The 1st Circuit consists of 12 judges and has jurisdiction over 16 parishes in southeastern Louisiana. The seat is held by Circuit Judge Edward “Jimmy” Gaidry, who is retiring at year’s end.

In the Morgan City contest for mayor, Grizzaffi and Dragna were the top vote-getters among five candidates. Grizzaffi had 35 percent of the vote and Dragna polled 19 percent in the Nov. 6 election.

The November vote settled the composition of the Morgan City council. The council will include Tim Hymel, District 1; Barry Dufrene, District 2; Ron Bias, District 3; James Fontenot, District 4; and Louis Tamporello Jr., District 5.

Polls were open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. Saturday.

Voter turnout in the Nov. 6 election was about 70 percent.

Some 1,521 St. Mary Parish voters cast their ballots early for Saturday’s runoff election compared to 4,135 voters who voted early for the Nov. 6 primary election.

There are about 34,000 registered voters in St. Mary Parish and 8,000 in Morgan City.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us