Green is recognized as an honorable mention choice

Staff Report

Morgan City’s Aliyah Green was selected as an honorable mention choice on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class 4A All-State team released Tuesday.

Green, a sophomore first baseman for the Lady Tigers, finished the season with a .304 batting average with two home runs. She had a .306 on-base percentage and a .931 fielding average.

“She’s a very strong girl,” Morgan City coach Kelly Jo Aucoin said this morning. “She did a very good job for us this season. She played … tight defense. When her hitting was on, she was able to put the ball away and score runs for us.”

Aucoin said she looked forward to working with Green during her next two years as a Lady Tiger.

St. Thomas More swept the individual honors as Bailey Hemphill was named Outstanding Player while Andria Waguespack was Coach of the Year.

Other District 8-4A selections on the team included Vandebilt Catholic second baseman Makelle Pena; and Ellender’s Kyler Trosclair as a utility selection.

District 8-4A honorable mention selections included Assumption’s Kirstyn Torres and Amanda Gianelloni; Vandebilt Catholic’s Kristen Kurtz, Carly Ellender and Nora Keehn; Ellender’s Alyssa Bush; and South Terrebonne’s Taylor Dupre.


First Team

Pitcher, Jackie Johnson – Belle Chasse, Meagan Lively – Neville, Whitney Romero – St. Thomas More, Jamie Wentzel – DeRidder; catcvher, Bailey Hemphill – St. Thomas More; first base, McKinley Marks – Beau Chene; second base, MaKelle Pena – Vandebilt Catholic; shortstop, Sarah Arceneaux – St. Thomas More; third base, Morgan Angelle – Teurlings Catholic; outfield, Alexis Cressonie – Academy of Our Lady, Kimber Gruehl – Alexandria, Jaime Landry – St. Thomas More; utility, Kyler Trosclair – Ellender, Allie Delrie – Grant, Allie Medlin – West Ouachita, Kassidy Zeringue – Lutcher, Summer Ellyson – Teurlings Catholic

Outstanding player: Bailey Hemphill, St. Thomas More

Coach of the Year: Andria Waguespack, St. Thomas More

Honorable mention: Shannon Dalton, St. Louis; Allison Tryon, West Ouachita; Kirstyn Torres, Assumption; Alyssa Bush, Ellender; Morgan Rosteet, St. Louis; Brianna Duquette, Belle Chasse; Kendi Malcomb, Grant; Madeline Poole, Alexandria; Taylor Frost, DeRidder; Kristen Kurtz, Vandebilt Catholic; Jessica Clay, DeRidder; Morgan Davis, St. Louis; Camille Quebodeaux, Teurlings Catholic; Carly Ellender, Vandebilt Catholic; Amber Smth, Plaquemine; Jade-Renee Zaunbrecher, DeRidder; Elise Ange, St. Louis; Amanda Gianelloni, Assumption; Gabby Kespeher, Benton; Brooke Jones, Grant; Mallory Perrault, Plaquemine; Bailey DeBona, Alexandria; Payton Lewis, Alexandria; Samantha Funderburk, Alexandria; Taylor Dupre, South Terrebonne; Aliya Greene, Morgan City; Nora Keehn, Vandebilt Catholic.

Courtesy of

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us