Green makes first team All-Sun Belt

LAFAYETTE – Louisiana tight end Ladarius Green has been tabbed as a preseason first team All-Sun Belt Conference selection as voted on by the league’s coaches and media, the conference office announced on Monday.

The announcement came at the onset of the Sun Belt’s annual Football Media Days which are being conducted Monday-Tuesday, July 18-19, through a state-of-the-art videoconferencing format. UL head coach Mark Hudspeth and Green are scheduled take part in the SBC Media Days videoconference on Tuesday at 10:30 a.m.

The honor extends the long list of preseason accolades for Green who was named to the 2011 John Mackey Award and Fred Biletnikoff Award watch lists earlier this month.

An All-American performer in 2010, the Pensacola native enters his senior campaign with the Ragin’ Cajuns with a plethora of preseason honors. Green is also on the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) D-I FBS Tight End Tro-phy Watch List, was tabbed a Top 5 draft eligible tight end by insider Mel Kiper, Jr., and was named a preseason All-American by (1st Team), Athlon (2nd Team), (3rd Team), Phil Steele (4th Team) and (Honorable Mention).

In 2010, Green led all tight ends nationally in receiving yardage (794), receiving yards-per-game (79.4), receiving yards-per-catch (18.0), games with 80 yards or more receiving (7) and receiving touchdowns (7).

Green led all players in the Sun Belt with four 100-yard receiving games and in yards-per-reception (18.0) en route to first team All-Sun Belt honors.

Green, a two-time All-Sun Belt performer, starts the 2011 season seventh in school history in career receiving yards (1,595), tied for fourth in career receiving touchdowns (14) and needs 26 catches to reach fifth in career receptions (cur-rently has 98).

The Cajuns report for preseason camp on August 3 to begin preparations for the 2011 season opener scheduled for September 3 at Oklahoma State.

Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference Offense

Corey Robinson (Troy, So., QB)

Lance Dunbar (NT, Sr., RB)

Bobby Rainey (WKU, Sr., RB)

Dwayne Frampton (ASU, Sr., WR)

T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Sr., WR)

Luther Ambrose (ULM, Sr., WR)

Ladarius Green (UL, Sr., TE)

Tom Castilaw (ASU, Sr. OL)

Caylin Hauptmann (FIU, Jr., OL)

Ryan McCaul (ULM, Sr., OL)

Matt Tomlinson (NT, Sr., OL)

James Brown (Troy, Sr., OL)

Wes Jeffries (WKU, Sr., OL)

Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference Defense

Dorvus Woods (ASU, Sr., DL)

Tourek Williams (FIU, Jr., DL)

Ken Dorsey (ULM, Sr., DL)

Jonathan Massaquoi (Troy, Jr., DL)

Demario Davis (ASU, Sr., LB)

Winston Fraser (FIU, Jr., LB)

Xavier Lamb (Troy, Sr., LB)

Kelcie McCray (ASU, Sr., DB)

Jonathan Cyprien (FIU, Jr., DB)

Marcus Bartels (FAU, Sr., DB)

Darius Prelow (ULM, Sr., DB)

Preseason All-Sun Belt Special Teams

Alan Gendreau (MT, Sr., Kicker)

Mickey Groody (FAU, Sr., Punter)

T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Sr., Return Specialist)

Co-Preseason Offensive Players of the Year

T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Sr., WR)

Lance Dunbar (NT, Sr., RB)

Preseason Defensive Player of the Year

Jonathan Massaquoi (Troy, Jr., DL)

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us