Central Catholic baseball team is honored

From Staff Reports

Central Catholic High School honored its baseball team during an awards ceremony Sunday at the school.

Among the awards distributed were All-District and All-State honors as well as the Jack Caldwell award, which was given to senior Ridge Rousseau. The award is named in memory of Caldwell, a former manager of the Amelia Recreation Department who fought for CCHS to play its baseball games in Amelia.

The award is given to a senior who exhibits leadership in multiple areas, including the community and academically. Caldwell’s widow, Sandra, presented the award to Rousseau.

Team members received a plaque, a medal and a T-shirt commemorating their state championship appearance.

During the banquet, CCHS coach Tyler Jensen also reflected on the season, his first as a head coach and one in which the Eagles compiled a 20-11 record. They advanced to the Class 1A state championship game where they were run-ruled in five innings by Ouachita Christian, 10-0.

Jensen called the squad the most improved — from the beginning to the end of a season — that he has ever seen.

“It was a great, great ride,” he said, explaining the squad has restored its position in Class 1A baseball as a team to be reckoned with.

However, he told his underclassmen that next year it won’t be good enough just to make a deep run in the playoffs. They should expect to win a championship the second go-round.

Below is a recap of the award winners:

—All-District: Bryson Barbier (first team pitcher), Josh Singleton (first team outfielder), Justin Arceneaux (honorable mention), Nick Case (honorable mention), Luke Landry (first team third baseman), Nick Longman (second team pitcher), Tyler Hoffpauir (honorable mention), Rousseau (second team first baseman), Dominick Guarisco (second team catcher), Austin Autin (honorable mention), Barron Courtney (second team utility) and Eriq Blanchard (second team outfield).

—All-State: Barbier (first team pitcher), Singleton (first team outfield) and Courtney (honorable mention). While he didn’t receive any hardware during the banquet, Jensen was named Class 1A Coach of the Year.

—Jack Caldwell award: Rousseau

—Most Improved Player: Guarisco and Tony Pennison

—Coaches award: Ryan Ratcliff

—–Academic All-District: Barbier, Arceneaux, Case, Charlie Barron, Landry, Longman, Hoffpauir, Rousseau, Pennison, Josh Tipton, Blanchard, Matthew Barbier and Bradley Patterson.

—Senior award: Longman and Rousseau

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us