CCHS honors baseball and track and field teams

Staff Report

MORGAN CITY — Central Catholic honored its baseball and track and field teams at an awards ceremony at the school Thursday evening.

Central Catholic’s baseball team finished its season Saturday with a state runner-up finish. They concluded their season with a 24-8 mark.

Central Catholic coach Tyler Jensen noted it was a good year with another Class 1A runner-up finish after completing the 2012 season in the same position.

And although Jensen said that after the state title game the team had walked away from the runner-up trophy after receiving it on the field and Principal Vic Bonnaffee had to pick it up for the ride home, the move was nothing more than his team simply forgetting to pick it up after the game.

In the track and field season, Central Catholic broke individual and school records, including Meo Knight’s new school mark in the high jump with a leap of 5-feet, 6-inches and Sal Grizzaffi’s new school record in the 1,600 meter run (5:02.65) and 3,200 meter run (11:10.65). Both participated in the state meet along with David Brown. Knight finished as Class 1A runner-up in the high jump.

Below is a recap of the baseball and track awards:


All-District: Bryson Barbier (District Pitcher of the Year, first team), Josh Singleton (first-team), Justin Arceneaux (honorable mention), Nick Case (second-team), Luke Landry (honorable mention), Tyler Hoffpauir (honorable mention), Dominick Guarisco (honorable mention), Austin Autin (honorable mention), Samuel Guarisco (first team), Barron Courtney (first team).

Academic All-District: Barbier, Singleton, Arceneaux, Case, Charlie Barron, Landry, Hoffpauir, Ryan Ratcliff, Tony Pennison, Courtney, Patrick Barron, Josh Tipton, Matthew Barbier and Stefano Guarisco.

Jack Caldwell Award: Justin Arceneaux.

Most Improved Player: Case and Tipton

Academic All-State: Landry

Coaches Award: Ratcliff

Track and Field

Academic All-District: Alexandra Aucoin, Hallie Autin, Carlie Boagni, Destinee Hebert, Anastasia Johnson, Meo Knight, Zachary Aucoin, Kyle Autin, Tyler Hoffpauir, Jalen Johnson, Luke Landry, Tyler Landry, John Parker, Tanner Wiggins

Regional Participants: Hallie Autin, Boagni, Johnson, Knight, Logan Arias, Aucoin; Austin Autin, Sal Grizzaffi, Hoffpauir, Johnson, Luke Landry, Parker, Singleton

State Participant: Knight (Class 1A runner-up in high jump), Brown (Class 1A finalist in shot put), Grizzaffi (Class 1A finalist in the 1,600 meter run and 3,200 meter run)

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us