Berwick High School holds sports awards ceremony

Staff Report

BERWICK — Athletes in 13 sports were recognized during the Berwick High School Spring athletic awards ceremony Monday.

Athletes in girls’ basketball, boys’ basketball, girls’ bowling, boys’ bowling, girls’ golf, boys’ golf, girls’ tennis, boys’ tennis, baseball, softball, girls’ track, boys’ track and the school’s Top Cats all were recognized.

Additionally, Vincent Caruso and Abigail Ohlin were named the school’s Male and Female Athlete of the Year as well as the recipients of a Berwick athletic scholarship valued at $500.

Also, Louisiana High School Athletic Association Composite Academic All-State and Class 3A All-State winners in various sports were recognized.

Below is a recap of those recognized:

Girls’ basketball

Offensive MVP: Abigail Ohlin

Defensive MVP: Khadijah Johnson

Panther Pride: Brittany Boudreaux

Coaches Award: Hayley Girard

Boys’ Basketball

Panther Pride: Johnny Lombas

Defensive MVP: Devin Tabor

Offensive MVP: Nicholas Osburn

Coaches Award: Chaz Russo

Girls’ Bowling

MVP: Elle Arcemont

Panther Pride: Mikayla Allen

Coaches Award: Lauran Delco

Most Improved: Mikenzie Reed

Captain: Kourtney Kennedy and Arcemont

High Average: Arcemont (168)

First-team All-District: Arcemont (MVP), Allen and Delco

Boys’ Bowling

MVP: Devon Quick

Panther Pride: Paul Reed

Coaches Award: Carl Reed

Most Improved: Aaron Barrilleaux

Captain: Quick

High Average: Quick (204)

First-team All-District: Quick

Girls’ Golf

MVP: Bethany Loupe

Panther Pride: Loupe

All-State Top 10: Loupe

Boys’ Golf

Panther Pride: Justin Rohrig

Boys’ Tennis

MVP: Nate Furlette and Riley Credeur

Panther Pride: Vincent Caruso

Coaches Award: Evan Boudreaux

Girls’ Tennis

MVP: Claire Parsiola and Mary Margaret Sanford

Panther Pride: Abby Ledet

Coaches Award: Shereen Richard

State champion plaque: Parsiola, Signe Parsiola, Mary Margaret Sanford, Ledet, Richard, Emma Gray, Carolyn Sanford and Allis Armato.

Boys’ Track:

Most Outstanding Field — Jumps: Jeremy Orgeron

Most Outstanding Field — Throws: Vincent Caruso

Most Oustanding Track — Sprinter: Josiah Gier

Most Outstanding Track — Distance: Chad Vining

Most Improved: Jason Cavalier

Panther Pride: Cavalier and Vining

MVP: Gier

9-3A Academic All-District: Logan Bran, Cavalier, Gier, Chaz Russo, Caruso, Joshua Engleton and Johnny Lombas

Girls’ Track:

Most Outstanding Field — Jumps: Khadijah Johnson and Kennedy Sampey

Most Outstanding Field — Throws: Nicole Arceneaux

Most Oustanding Track — Sprinter: Brittany Boudreaux

Most Outstanding Track — Distance: Olivia Gilbert

Most Improved: Cari Powell

Panther Pride: Rebecca Richard

MVP: Johnson

9-3A Academic All-District: Samantha Billiot and Peyton Benandi


Offensive MVP: Brooks Richard

Defensive MVP: Nick Osburn

Panther Pride: Anthony Richard

Coaches Award: Nick Duthu and Brooks Richard

Most Improved: Tim Shelby

Team Player Award: Bobby Boudreaux and Logan Theriot

Captain Award: Reed Leonard and Ian Bergeron

All-District: Duthu (first team), Leonard (first team), Shelby (second team) and Anthony Richard (second team)

Academic All-District: Bergeron, Theriot and Leonard


Team Captain: Megan Fabre

Academic All-District: Alexis Kates, Abigail Ohlin, Elizabeth Hover, Celeste Bowers and Hayley Girard

All-District: Shelby Bergeron (first team), Fabre (first team), Shannon Theriot (unanimous first team), Hover (first team), Rennan Delatte (second team), Kates (second team), Girard (second team), Maddie Gray (honorable mention), Bowers (honorable mention) and Olivia Gilbert (honorable mention).


Senior Awards: Jordin Beadle, Kimberly Guarisco, Abigail Ledet, Morgan Gray, Alexis Fabre, Shereen Richard and Hannah Pitre.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us